While day-to-day responsibility for the charity rests with trustees (Court of Assistants), the Governors are our ultimate governing body, as laid down in our 1678 Royal Charter from King Charles II and they meet annually at the Annual General Court in November.

Annual General Court

The Annual General Court is the AGM of the charity, when our Governors meet to hear about our work and elect new trustees.

Currently held in the West Crypt at the Guildhall, the next Annual General Court will be held on Thursday 14 November 2019.

All Governors of the charity are welcome, and a formal invitation will be sent to them nearer the time.

All Governors are also invited to a celebration of the Eucharist at 10.30am in the Church of St Mary-le-Bow in Cheapside.



Court of Assistants (Trustees)

Oversight of the charity is vested in our board of trustees, known as the Court of Assistants, which meets every two months in London.

The members of the Court of Assistants are elected each November by the Governors of Clergy Support Trust at the Annual General Court in accordance with the Royal Charter. The Court of Assistants can co-opt others to its number pending formal election at the Annual General Court.

The three officers of the charity, known as the Treasurers, are also elected by the Governors at the Annual General Court.  

The Court of Assistants has four standing committees: Governance, Grants, Investments and Risk, Audit & Finance.

Become a Governor

The Governors are elected at the Annual General Court meeting and the current qualification for election is the making of a donation to the charity of at least £100. Anyone making the qualifying donation may request that his or her name be added to the list of those to be proposed for election as Governors at the next annual meeting.

Once elected, a Governor remains a Governor for life without the necessity for a further subscription – although further financial support is always very welcome! The membership of the Court of Assistants, the trustees, are elected by the Governors.

If you would like to become a governor of the charity, please contact us.