

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the 342nd annual general meeting ('Annual Assembly') of the Charity for Relief of the Poor Widows and Children of Clergymen (commonly known as Clergy Support Trust and formerly known as Sons & Friends of the Clergy) will be held via the Zoom video conferencing platform on 12 November 2020, starting at 11.30am and finishing by 12.30pm.

AGENDA

1. Opening prayer

2. Noting of apologies for absence received

The apologies for absence received will not be read out but recorded in the minutes of the meeting.

3. Minutes of the 341st Annual General Court of Clergy Support Trust

- a) Approval of the minutes for signing by the Senior Treasurer.
- b) Matters arising from the minutes (if any).

4. Governors deceased

5. Senior Treasurer's report

This will include the presentation of the Trustees' Annual Report for the year ended 31 December 2019, an update on the year-to-date and brief feedback on the Governor consultation undertaken earlier this year.

- 6. Interview with the new Chief Executive, Mr Ben Cahill-Nicholls
- 7. Appointment of Buzzacott LLP as the charity's auditors
- 8. Election of:
 - a) New Governors.
 - b) Members of the Court of Assistants for the coming year (brief profiles of proposed new Assistants attached).
 - c) Treasurers (chair and two vice chairs) for the coming year.

9. Date of 2021 Annual Assembly

10. Any other business

Any Governor who wishes to raise substantive business under this heading is asked to notify the Chief Executive at least two days prior to the meeting.

11. The Grace

Jeremy Moodey Chief Executive 30 September 2020

PROFILES OF PROPOSED NEW TRUSTEES

Constance Chinhengo (Essex)

Constance has worked for the Financial Ombudsman Service since 2012, most recently as a senior manager (Ombudsman Leader). Since 2017 she has co-chaired Embrace, the Financial Ombudsman Service's award-winning Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic (BAME) staff network. Constance previously worked in retail banking with HSBC (2006-12). Constance has a Master's degree in Personnel and Human Resources Development and is a member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel Development. She is also an active member and youth mentor at her local Salvation Army corps.

Alderman Robert Hughes-Penney (Buckinghamshire)

Robert has been an Investment Director at Rathbone Investment Management since 1999. He is currently deputy head of the London office and runs a business unit responsible for nearly £5bn of client funds. Robert directly runs portfolios of around £500m for a range of clients including family groups, trusts and charities. His charity roles include being a member of the Court of Assistants of The Worshipful Company of Haberdashers and a Past Master of The Guild of Investment Managers. Robert was elected as an Alderman of the City of London in July 2018.

Stephen Slack CBE (Oxfordshire)

Stephen served for 18 years (2001-19) as Head of the Legal Office of the National Church Institutions of the Church of England and Chief Legal Advisor to the Archbishops' Council and the General Synod. From 2009-19 he was also Official Solicitor to the Church Commissioners. He previously (1984-2001) worked for the Charity Commission and before that trained as a solicitor in private practice, working with Linklaters and Osborne Clarke in Bristol. His charity roles include trusteeships at the Oxfordshire Historic Churches Trust and the Overseas Bishoprics Fund.

TRUSTEES SUBMITTING FOR RE-ELECTION

Please visit <u>www.clergysupport.org.uk/our-people</u> for biographical details. Treasurer nominations for 2020/21 will be tabled on the day.

Revd Canon Simon Butler – 1st term of three, 3rd year Adam Chamberlain – 1st term, 2nd year Martin Cooper – 1st term, 2nd year Revd Dr Jack Dunn – 3rd term, 1st year Richard Farmbrough – 1st term, 3rd year Revd Nancy Goodrich – 1st term, 2nd year Jeremy Hargreaves – 1st term, 3rd year Stephen Hogg – 1st term, 2nd year Revd Canon Roxanne Hunte – 3rd term, 3rd year Revd Canon Wendy Kennedy – 3rd term, 3rd year Jackie Jordan – 1st term, 3rd year Jackie Jordan – 1st term, 3rd year Jonathan Prichard – 3rd term, 1st year Patrick Walker – 3rd term, 3rd year